moonlight promises

indigo paints the sky at the darkening of dusk

and clouds swept away in a navy rinse.

twinkling city lights glow even brighter

against the inky night sky.

before the moon and stars arrive –

I think of you.

I am washed in the iridescence of indigo

carrying off my covers and veils

like the dissolving vanish of the clouds.

I know my dreams will be sweeter, city light shimmers,

as I drift off into the moonlight’s promise

of time with you.

sunlight messages

whisper to me at dawn.

in the pink and yellow waking,

give me just a small sign

that you think of me.

 

at day’s opening hours,

yolk of light rising higher,

tell me I am not forgotten from you –

your heart still listens for mine.

 

when you sit in quiet,

warmth of the light wrapping you,

and allow yourself to drift off

is it my eyes you sometimes see?

 

voice as loud as a fawn, new and fresh,

standing in the bright sunlight

and feeling her first day’s glow,

tell me I still exist in you.

 

I beg of those rays – wash over me –

and I will feel the heat of you

knowing I’m not alone

thinking all these thoughts

of you.