chili pepper choices

I’m not needing your approval of me 

nods of agreement for my decisions 

my chili pepper choices of 

spicy dicey checks and balances 

they always mellow in the swallow 

I cast the die 

already knowing the number it will show 

snake eyes after the shake and throw 

I knew the serpent

would be ready to strike 

judge and jury never called to duty 

sitting on high calling me into question 

but my question mark was never 

typeset in this quandary 

so why should you illustrate your own 

in its place 

?

triple lindies

you do not need to judge me

I’m not performing

triple lindies

for you to hold up

your card of perfect 10

I’m not swinging on uneven bars

stopping up high

my retton flip complete with

stuck feet

not for anyone but me

I know the judges will always

sit perched in their dedicated seats

watching

always watching

but I will not

climb up to those chairs

I will dive next to you

and circle high bar together

in synchronized fashion

never noticing

your open hand caused too much splash

or your dismount was slightly off center

I will be doing and being by your side

too joined to judge

too connected to condemn