gherkin

a winter spent in tears

drowning in sorrow

when all I tasted were

salty lumps in throat’s swallow

holding back the briny rainfall

until I was alone

whispering into megaphones

words to ease a broken girl

to stop the constant flow

or else she may have ended up

a sweet gherkin floating

in a blue mason jar

beachcomber

I was always washed up

on your sandy shore

and I waited around

toes sinking into the wet

creating deep footprints

for you to see

follow to a hidden cove

and spend the day with me

but you never looked

you never noticed

you waited for the tide

that took them away

before you went

beachcombing

summoning butterflies

admittedly,

I really don’t know much about you

what I saw was potential

a nod of goodness

a smile of hope

the twinkling of starts

the whispers of real

I knew me

I knew I don’t summon butterflies

from the palms of my hands

they usually come single file

once a century

until the day they swarmed

surrounded by paper wings of potential

and I swallowed a few

light touch to be kept forever

since I may not see more

for another

hundred years