cemetery gates

I answer the call

knowing

your voice will rattle through me.

walk into my outer skin

like a ghost haunting this house.

I knew you would penetrate,

stabbing as you do,

not in intent

but in essence.

I cannot near you.

I must leave you graveside –

last dirt tossed

on tomb stone engraved

with your name and mine.

I hope you stay bound

to this graveyard.

making a home

amongst the midnight flowers.

dancing on the soft grass.

in the fog of your heart

find peace.

but I am not of ghosts.

I am of the living

and as I leave I look back

hoping

you’re not following

back through

cemetery gates.

Leave a Reply

