this is ever after

careful in my climb 

I looked out over that great mountainside 

out into the heavens 

and it was then, 

it was then I knew 

we are part of ever after.

just as 

you 

are a part of me.

always.

never turning to ash 

that I scattered 

or cinders that I buried with her body.

you are still part of where I am.

I don’t need to climb cliffs 

or sit on top of clouds 

to know you again.

I can feel you in the breeze

wrapping your arms 

inside my heart 

as the ache 

of my missing you.

Leave a Reply

