courage coursing 

in vulnerability I find no comfort 

in attention I find no glory

rather 

run into shadowed shade cover 

unseen 

in whisper of the unnoticed 

non-exist 

keeping strength 

in my own blood vessels 

aiding 

in my own ailments 

hefting 

in my own hand 

I stand to two feet 

and 

if by chance I reach 

I stand in spotlight 

yet 

met with slap 

back of wrist reddened 

burned

back of neck blistered

I shrink back 

hidden 

away from Hurt’s possibilities 

away from Rejection’s recourse 

I retreat to my own courage 

coursing through these deep veins 

leading to my tender heart 

in touch to others remembering 

every story has wounds 

and worries 

and wonders 

and wishes 

of the lost 

like mine

Leave a Reply

