until now

I found peace. 

 

in the deep corners 

where the cobwebs hunt 

and the dirt gathers 

there lay a log, 

a diary of sorts. 

not a smudge of dust 

on the cover touched.

tied tight in closure 

of knots and puzzles 

unattempted in ages. 

I thought about leaving it,

heading back to where I’d been, 

but my eyelids now too small 

to completely cover my eyes.

once your eyes can see 

you can no longer claim blindness.

I reached for those pages of print

to find I already knew all the words.

they were mine. 

it had been too dark 

from behind closed eyes 

to read them. 

 

until now.

Leave a Reply

