my blame

I know I’m to blame.

born with short humerus

or malformed radius.

maybe the gene to extend

never passed on into

my double X set.

perhaps the ability

went untaught.

muscles never strengthened

and in the weakness

atrophy occurred.

 

I know I’m to blame.

my ability to reach

and extend fingertips

into vast vulnerability

never developed

through the years.

when an attempt

has been made

either

I can gather no length

or a slap of the hand

leaves me shirking further.

 

I know I’m to blame.

I’ve let my weakness

become my weight

holding my dominant arm down,

harboring my unsaid fears,

creating my undesirables into reality,

imparting my own blame.

 

Leave a Reply

