kiln fire

I wish I could report

forgetting you

as easy as

water to blackboard

wet sponge collects

chaulky writing

equations to solve

dissolve in the soak

leaving clean slate

a blank surface to start

anew

 

I have tried to wet

my head

let the water drip down

wipe and rub

where my thoughts hold

a spot for you

 

but you are more akin

to glaze on ceramics

kiln fired

and deep set

dried and cured

set into my terra-cotta brain

and no amount of scrubbing

diminishes this memory

of you

Leave a Reply

