box

when I found the box

of all your stuff

the things you had packed

and hid in the floor

under our cherry stained coffee table

I wasn’t going to open it

I didn’t know what I would find

we had both

lost our minds by the end

and I didn’t know

what you would hide

in that swaying state of sanity

old letters and used razors?

red ribbons and foreign coins?

dead butterflies and rabbit tails?

I was prepared for anything

when I lifted those flaps

anything except

what I found

Leave a Reply

