in the clearing

I walked in fog

not quite in tune

with all my surroundings

until I reached a clearing

when the branches broke

and the mist dried

I could see

what had stirred as questions

finally answered at those spots

where the sun broke through

and my eyes were open

 

I confidently carried on

or turned left

 

at times leaving behind

those things I wished to

carry with me until my last days

people, places, things

I sacrificed and suffered

at even more loss

then I had been doled

without the hand to guide

 

but the clearing always shone

where the path of right led

and I choose not to walk in harm

of you or her or him

I choose to follow

into the alone

so I couldn’t hurt anyone

 

I made one mistake

and for that I ask for grace

of Mother’s kind heart

knowing I’m just a child

neither perfect nor righteous

but a lonely soul

unwittingly

unwantingly

unwaveringly

looking for the clearing

so I can follow that path

into the light

Leave a Reply

