way up on the mountain

way up on the mountain
there’s a songbird who sings
way up on the mountain
is love only her voice brings

way up on the mountain
are hopes and dreams I cried
way up on the mountain
memories of all my attempts and tries

way up on the mountain
I let a piece of me die
way up on the mountain
I learned there’s more than one way to fly

way up on the mountain
I travelled over rocks and stone
way up on the mountain
I found the eyes that took me home

way up on the mountain
I remembered what was true
way up on the mountain
and all I ever climbed for was you

Leave a Reply

