heartbeat

the workings of my heart

are a mystery to me

when I see you now, it runs

races with the fervor of a hummingbird

beating her wings in such frequency

flying and fleeting in a flurry of vigor

with velocity and vivacity that whizes in the wind

yet

I know

if you were to hold me in your arms

resting my head under your chin

the closeness of you

would slow its pace

gliding in the security of our air

like a crane above the sandhill

soaring

safely

sailing

steady

slowly

softly

solid

and sound

Leave a Reply

