paper doll

I know the day the tides turned for you

when I became real and no longer a paper doll

cut from the parchment for you to dress

paisley skirt and lace blouse with knee high boots

all held on by folding tabs

easily altered at your whim

I wanted to be a real doll in your hands of play

then one playdate came when paper doll spoke

she told you what you knew was said behind your back

she spoke of more real than any doll

real or paper thin

that you ever knew

and there, before my eyes, your eyes changed

I could see my own form

morphing in the blacks of your pupils

you saw me in a new dimension

and I had become real

Leave a Reply

