burnt

why did you want to break me?

burn my match until snuffed

rid of me in the end

try to deconstruct my heart

let it rot

mold in the heat

why did you bother?

what was it you hated so much

in my hopes of love in you?

I reached

and you stretched

in the way one does

when they don’t really want to touch you

fingertips graze,

but letting you fall

through the oxygenated air

blowing out my flame

why strike the lonely match at all

why not leave it for the one

who needs my fire

if you didn’t care for heat

Leave a Reply

