buttons

undo the top button

releasing the stiff collar

to fall to the sides of my neck

where the collarbones rise

and fall away

with every deep sigh

and every deep sigh 

signals you to

undo another button

for fabric to spill

to the sateen sheets beneath

and I am free

to be yours

One thought on “buttons

  1. Just wanted to share that Chert Dog (My Father’s Greatest Gift: Life Lessons from a Black English Labrador Retriever) did not like buttons, he would take them off all of my Dad’s shirts when hr was left home and not riding in the car with Dad. Made me smile, Chert was the best dog my Dad ever had! Lori

    Like

Leave a Reply

