obscured

softness, that was once you

misty apparition that barely

touched the ground in step

as earth seemed to flower

where you walked

barrage of promise trailing behind

in the train of your gown

you covered me as you

gracefully moved along

I laid embedded in the dirt

your hope-filled fabric

slid across my half buried self

shrouding me in fancy and in faith

it was when you kept in movement

slowly unveiling my pieces

toes first, wiggle and then

clenched in the cold of despair

my chest next, bare of your sacredness

froze the once throbbing heart it holds

and when the sweep train

tailed off my brow and you

left my whole bare

I realized you had no idea

I was even there

Leave a Reply

