leave your shoes

when it started

to fill my brain

with thoughts of

“me, me me”

that’s when I knew

I had allowed myself

entrance into ego

didn’t knock

just walked right in

sat down on my meditation cushion

closed my eyes

and sank deep into her

-ego-

it felt good everything swimming around me

manipuri dancers

ring around the rosie

and me at the center

-wake up-

“you are not you

you are we”

leave your shoes

and your self

at the door please

my heart began to see

further and deeper

than my mind could possibly travel

“always follow me,”

said she

“I care only for the we.”

and so I took her

pulsing hand in mine

and once again

left behind

safety in what I knew

for a greater

we

Leave a Reply

