urchin words

whispered under your breath

as we drove too late for coffee

too early for cocktails

you thought I didn’t hear you

I pretended to watch the world move

out my window like I was on a carousel

motion in blur

until it was all just colors

muted and muddied by your words

that ran for life

tired of living in darkness

somehow escaped your angry lips

and I understood

that is no way to live

amongst the swirl of anger

the stomping of lead heavy feet

the furrowed tweezer plucked brow

they couldn’t wait to go

so I took them in, those urchin words

and I made them mine

I made them a more accurate tale

“I hate

the honesty of    

you.”

Leave a Reply

