hiding in doorways

I miss you

it’s been over 20 years

twenty years

but I still think about you

in all the same ways I did

when I was 20

and not just dreamy

opium laced hash memories

those were fun

and they were plenty

but when we ran dry

all the roach clips empty

last of the sticky resin

scraped from the bowl

sober as cops showing up

moments

when I knew a you

no one else knew

and you tried to hide in the doorway

because entrance

felt too intoxicating

but exit

felt too cold turkey

6 thoughts on “hiding in doorways

Leave a Reply

